Book Review: Kellie Elmore’s “Magic in the Backyard”

Kellie Elmore’s Magic in the Backyard is a collection of poetry. And it is a delight to read.

It is quiet and soulful.

While reading this collection, I would tell myself to read just one section. But I could never read just one section.

Kellie’s writing is fluid, so full of life, of subtleties, of beauty. Her poetry is very easy to lose yourself in because she writes such captivating stories that read like both fiction and non-fiction.

Favorite lines from Magic in the Backyard:

I miss those country curves and her waves braided into valleys; land hugged in farmers’ tapestries and weathered homes wrapped in porches. (from Tennessee Wishin’)

In this town where all roads lead home and the train cries a lonesome song for the fallen… (from American Honey)

Kellie and I have corresponded of and on for a couple of months. I was honored when she asked if I would read and review her book.  I recently asked Kellie a few questions and she graciously answered.

What projects are you working on?

“I am currently working on a novel which is a whole new world to me as I have only a history with short stories but, I am really excited to see how it turns out and will be publishing sometime next year.”

Favorite authors, movies, etc?

“My favorite authors are Nicholas Sparks and I just recently discovered author Sarah Addison Allen and have grown quite fond of her work. I’m reading The Sugar Queen at the moment and totally adore this story thus far. For the most part, I enjoy movies that have been made from books. I like to compare the film adaptation to what I created in my mind when reading. So, of course some of my favorite movies have been from Nicholas Sparks.”

Can you tell me more about Magic in the Backyard?

“Magic in the Backyard is probably 99% truth. Memoir – like but, there is a bit of fiction weaved in just to satisfy my pen. Nearly every piece was, is extremely personal to me as it is accounts, recollections, memories and life-scapes of people who were a big part of my life for so long. each small story/poem holds a place in my heart because they helped me mourn, grow and move on…the best therapy I could have ever invested in was writing.”

What advice would you give to other writers?

“My advice to writers…stay true to your voice. Don’t try to mimic other writers and their styles. Don’t try to write on topics that you haven’t embraced completely. Stick with what you know and your readers will feel it and more importantly, you will feel it…that’s where the joy comes from.”

Thank you Kellie for pursuing your passion and sharing your voice with the world! Pick up Magic in the Backyard from Amazon or visit Kellie’s website.

2 comments

  1. Haven’t heard of this one. Sounds good! I’ll check it out. I love what she said here: “My advice to writers…stay true to your voice. Don’t try to mimic other writers and their styles. Don’t try to write on topics that you haven’t embraced completely. Stick with what you know and your readers will feel it and more importantly, you will feel it…that’s where the joy comes from.”

    I am really trying to follow that advice right now.

Leave a Reply

