Palms up living

A sketchnote

This is an ongoing series about the book Love Does by Bob Goff. I am exploring each chapter and sharing a few of my thoughts.

Chapter 30 – Palms Up

“When people ask me what it looks like to follow Jesus, I usually say that following Him looks like dealing with all of the issues everyone else does – disappointments, tremendous joy, uncertainty, the whole bit – and having your mind change all the time as you learn how Jesus would’ve dealt with things. Following Jesus is about having your paradigms shift as you navigate a wide range of emotions while living the big life Jesus invites us into.”

 

Living palms up is what Bob talks about in this chapter. Palms up helps us be calm, honest, and accurate. Palms up is how Jesus lived. It “means you are strong enough to be vulnerable, even with your enemies.”

 
I’ve found myself trying this technique physically. When I am sitting somewhere I place my palms up and the backs of my hands rest on knees. It’s a vulnerable position palms up. But physically, mentally, spiritually I think it is better to live palms up then with fists clenched.

 
How can you live your life more palms up?

To read an excerpt check out Bob’s guest post for Donald Miller here.

2 comments

  1. Richard Foster talks about a meditation exercise called “palms down, palms up.” Palms down is when I lay down all my worries and cares at Jesus’ feet. Palms up is when I receive all He has for me. Physically doing this really calms me. It helps me to not be afraid. Even enemies lose their power over me when I face them with palms up, believing that nothing is out of God’s control, even someone’s evil intent for me.

    1. Sorry for the delay in replying, I’ve been out of town and unplugged. : )

      This is great – palms down, palms up! I’ve noticed at night that I have been trying to relax and purposely lay my hands with palms up. It is very calming and very peaceful!

Leave a Reply

