Directionally challenged

This is an ongoing series about the book Love Does by Bob Goff. I am exploring each chapter and sharing a few of my thoughts.

Chapter 21 – Hearing Aid

Yesterday as I sat at the mechanic’s shop I reread the “Hearing Aid” chapter of Love Does. I love how Bob just cuts right to the matter at hand, he writes about how God communicates:

“…God isn’t limited at all. He can communicate to us in any way He wants to anytime He wants to.”

It made me smile because several days I ago had become lost on my way to the lake and my sister’s place there and I tweeted from the side of the road:

Only I can get lost with map, directions, gps, and someone on the phone giving me more specific instructions. #directionallychallenged

And you know what happened? My sister came and found me. I sat down the map, turned off the GPS, and ended my phone call. She came and found me and asked me to follow her. She didn’t respond out of anger or frustration, she just came and found me and then let me follow.

God communicates in so many ways, in ways I probably can’t even imagine.

And mostly He wants me to just follow Him.

He asks me to quit trying to figure out my location on the map.

He asks me to trust Him implicitly.

And He doesn’t seem so upset about all my mistakes. All my grievances. He doesn’t seem to care about my lists and records. I’m more upset about all those things than He is.

He uses all of it for a beautiful purpose, nothing is lost on Him.

And I get to follow Him.

To read an excerpt check out Bob’s guest post for Donald Miller here.

One comment

Leave a Reply

