Invitation to adventure

This is an ongoing series about the book Love Does by Bob Goff. I am exploring each chapter and sharing a few of my thoughts.

Chapter 20 – Ten-Year-Old Adventures

Every day God invites us on the same kind of adventure. It’s not a trip where He sends us a rigid itinerary, He simply invites us. God asks what it is He’s made us to love, what it is that captures our attention, what feeds the deep indescribable need of our souls to experience the richness of the world He made. And then, leaning over us, He whispers, “Let’s go do that together.”

Healing words to an aching heart. This quote above rains over my spirit and lets me see God afresh.

No rigid itinerary?

No religious protocol?

No judgement?

I’m in! An adventure with the God of the universe and He wants to do it together.

Again, it’s healing.

When you’ve grown up in church and don’t know why you believe what you believe –

when you test the waters and those in church leadership are fearful you have lost your faith –

when you’ve come to realize God is so much more than religion –

This is why the quote ignites hope in me: He is Relationship. He is Everything.

And I begin seeing God as so much more than all the labels I’ve place upon Him, I am thrilled/elated/ecstatic to be called His. And I want to go on adventure, right now.

What about you – do you hear God whispering in your ear, “Let’s do that together.”?

To read an excerpt check out Bob’s guest post for Donald Miller here.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

