Reverse economy is the way to go

This is an ongoing series about the book Love Does by Bob Goff. I am exploring each chapter and sharing a few of my thoughts.

Chapter 17 – Corner Store Economics

“I used to think rules were made by someone else, but now I know we get to make some of our own.”

Reverse economy. And a story of shopkeeper and his influence on Bob.

Bob talks about how Jesus was always speaking about reverse economy. To receive, give. To lead, follow. Poor is rich. Die to live.

“…we have more power than we think to make our own rules about life to live out the economy that Jesus put in place.”

It’s a switch, isn’t it? We live differently. We choose differently. We treat others differently. In a reverse economy, we get to live out loud how Jesus lives.

I usually don’t like the idea of reverse economy. And I’ve been know to get stubborn about the idea. Because I know people who have suffered, so: Why do bad things happen to good people? Why did they have to shut down their business? Why did he get disowned? But then I think of all the messy, glorious beauty that has come from their unknown depths of heartache and I begin to see it. I see reverse economy in action. And I can help speak truth into those circumstances. I can be a bearer of love, of loyalty. I can be steadfast as my God is. And I’m growing to embrace reverse economy. I’d rather be with Jesus on this one.

Sent with Writer.

To read an excerpt check out Bob’s guest post for Donald Miller here.

Leave a Reply

