Missing the mark

This is an ongoing series about the book Love Does by Bob Goff. I am exploring each chapter and sharing a few of my thoughts.

Chapter 16 – Hunting Grizzlies

“I used to think I had missed the mark and God was mad about it, but now I know “missing the mark” is a stupid analogy.”

What a chapter! This would be the chapter I will tell my brother-in-laws all about. They like hunting and guns and stuff. It’s about hunting grizzlies in the house and a mistake that ends with Bob as a boy soaked in his own blood and a shiner to beat all shiners.

But as Bob is so apt to do, he takes that story and weaves another incredible layer to it. And it’s about the importance of what we are aiming at. And how often there are Christians who have others in their crosshairs (a gun analogy!) and how those Christians are usually a bit judgmental. Bob says, “I didn’t like that, because I messed up a lot, and there’s something creepy about feeling like you are in someone’s crosshairs. Maybe it’s one of those times where, like my dad said, these folks needed to take their eyes away from the scope for a while in order to see what’s close, like their own hurts and mistakes. I think we all need to do that from time to time. I sure do.”

I love when Bob talks about how we are made to aim for some things like love or security or other worthy pursuits. But sometimes it goes horribly wrong and God isn’t mad at us for missing the mark. He is more than that. Instead he scoops us up and heals us. And what need is there for “missing the mark” when you have a God who is more than any analogy could ever be?

Are you able to see God as more than a mad, angry God? If so, how do you see Him?

Does it upset you when Christians are judgmental? What is the reason for all the criticisms?

Sent with Writer.

To read an excerpt check out Bob’s guest post for Donald Miller here.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

