What Jesus Did

This is an ongoing series about the book Love Does by Bob Goff. I am exploring each chapter and sharing a few of my thoughts.

Chapter 15 – A Word Not To Use

Bob packs a punch in this chapter, but in his usual easy-going lighthearted way. For me the part I focused in on was all about what Jesus did. In my search to find Jesus, to embrace God, to love unreservedly, to leave my judgements in the dirt – I found this chapter refreshing. I really like how Bob captures the essence of Jesus and peels away all the restrictions we do in the name of Him and for our many churches. Jesus “just asked people to join the adventure. It’s almost like Jesus came to say, among other things, that a relationship with Him isn’t supposed to make complete sense or provide security. Faith isn’t an equation or a formula or a business deal that gets you what you want. In short, there’s nothing on the other side of the equal signs, just Jesus.”

How different would your relationship with Jesus be if you decided you were on an adventure with Jesus?

Are you satisfied with your faith not being some sort of equation or formula to get what you want? Are you being honest?

This, all of this: Just Jesus. An adventure. Faith being pure and not manipulated. All of this helps me seek out Jesus. All of this makes me joyful to know I believe in a God who isn’t trying to pull one over on me. All of this keeps me saying yes with my heart, with my actions, with my soul.

To read an excerpt check out Bob’s guest post for Donald Miller here.

5 comments

Leave a Reply

