Failure is part of the process

This is an ongoing series about the book Love Does by Bob Goff. I am exploring each chapter and sharing a few of my thoughts.

Chapter 4 – The Reach

Can you have a favorite chapter in a book? Well, this is probably the one for me then.

My first reading of this chapter I read it clutching my chest and couldn’t decide whether I should laugh or cry. I suppose I ended up doing a bit of both. I am a melodramatic reader.

The reason this chapter spoke so soundly to me was that it was about failure.

If you have hung around this blog for any amount of time, you know I speak of failure or fear or failure. Failure. Fail. Failed. Failing. I am acquainted with all variations of failure. And most have kept me caged up and I never have stepped out – that’s that pesky, paralyzing fear of failure.

Bob speaks so truthfully, so vulnerably, so hilariously on failure. My book has this section penned and marked with comments in the margins. I finished this chapter and called my best friend and read to her from it. I read it to her husband. I read it again to my best friend. And then we just sat in a beautiful silence on the phone. I swear hope grew and rooted itself during our phone call.

Bob, if you were to read this, thank you. Thank you for capturing the beauty and purpose of failure. Thank you for redefining failure. Thank you for whispering these words of truth to wounded and broken souls.

Standout Quotes

“Failure is just part of the process, and it’s not just okay; it’s better than okay. God doesn’t want failure to shut us down. God didn’t make it a three-strikes-and-you’re-out sort of thing. It’s more about how God helps us dust ourselves off so that we can swing for the fences again. And all of this without keeping a meticulous record of our screw-ups.”

“God finds us in our failures and our successes, and He says that while we used to think one way about things, now He wants us to think another way about those same things. And for me, I’ve realized that I used to be afraid of failing at the things that really mattered to me, but now I’m more afraid of succeeding at things that don’t matter.”

Living as love does strengthens you to be less afraid of failing at your own ideas and concerns. Living as love does wants to fail, succeed, try at the things that matter. It is bigger than ego, pride, or trivial matters. Living as love does is beyond self.

To read an excerpt check out Bob’s guest post for Donald Miller here.

7 comments

  1. Pingback: Say yes | Keeks

Leave a Reply

