Inside “Love Does”: I’m With You

Chapter 1 of Love Does left my heart in my throat.

It is here that we meet a high school age Bob Goff who is adrift. Bob’s friend Randy completely turns Bob’s world upside down with three words: I’m with you. Randy shows him commitment, friendship, and sacrifice.

Bob realizes that one of his dreams has come to end and he says, “A dream of mine had just checked into hospice, and Randy was sensitive enough to know I needed some margin to think.”

We’ve all had those moments when a dream has shriveled and died. And usually we don’t need words we need presence in our life. A presence without agenda. A presence who is with us.

This is the person I want to be. I want to be a person who is known for being with someone – not trying to fix them, instead choosing to be with them. Being fully present. Being willing to sacrifice.

To read an excerpt check out Bob’s guest post for Donald Miller here.

*This is an ongoing series about the book Love Does by Bob Goff. I am exploring each chapter and sharing a few of my thoughts.

15 comments

  1. Pingback: Say yes | Keeks
  2. Thanks for the marvelous posting! I genuinely enjoyed reading it, you may be a great author.I will ensure that I bookmark your blog
    and will often come back very soon. I want to
    encourage one to continue your great posts, have a
    nice evening!

Leave a Reply

