Forward Motion #5: Your Local Library

Steacie Science and Engineering Library at Yor...

One of my favorites places on the face of the planet is my local library.

And best of all, it’s free. Unless you are in a really bad habit of collecting fines, not that I would know anything about such a thing.

When I am in need of ideas, of inspiration – I head to the library and always find something.

My local library has every type of book, huge variety of music, and classic movies to the very most recent movies.

Any time I want to check out a new artist (or new artist to me) I find it at the library and give it a preview.

My most treasured finds so far include:

Music: M83 and Gungor

Movie: Buck (incredible documentary, truly inspiring)

Book: Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking by Susan Cain

The library even has special classes, presentations, and lectures on a variety of subjects.

I heart the local library and kind of feel like you should too.

Remember this:

Local library = idea generator with no price tag

3 comments

  1. I love the library! People think I am crazy to use it b/c…”wouldn’t it be simpler to own it and read on your own time line?” Well, simpler to read on own time line…but after a while book add up moeny wise and space wise. I like not having to find a place for a book. Yea for no clutter. Thanks for the great entry!!

    1. You are smart – more money and more space! I like owning books but a good way for me to find new material is definitely the library. It allows me to try out and decide if it is something I truly want to invest in.

Leave a Reply

