Book Review: Lewis Carroll’s “Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland”

Okay, I’m going to be completely honest, this book wasn’t as captivating as I was hoping (insert a sad face here). This may be because I have visions of the different movie versions running in my mind. I did not like the animated Disney cartoon, but then I fell hard for the Tim Burton version. I digress.

Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland was truly, truly imaginative. Some of the words the author use gave me pause and put a smile on my face.

The story made me wish to be a child again so I could read the story as a child and be awash in all the impossible possibilities.

I will be reading the other Alice books and in my nerdiness I may research the background of Lewis Carroll and Alice.

I must also include that the edition I read of Alice had the most uncanny and dreamlike illustration. Camille Rose Garcia is an amazing illustrator. Her artwork added so much to the telling of the story – much how I think Carroll intended it to be.

*****

Favorite quotes:

“Why it’s simply impassible!
Alice: Why, don’t you mean impossible?
Door: No, I do mean impassible. (chuckles) Nothing’s impossible!”
***
“‎You’re not the same as you were before,” he said. You were much more… muchier… you’ve lost your muchness”. — Mad Hatter”
***
“Curiouser and curiouser.”
***
“Would you tell me, please, which way I ought to go from here?”
“That depends a good deal on where you want to get to.”
“I don’t much care where –”
“Then it doesn’t matter which way you go.”
***
“She generally gave herself very good advice, (though she very seldom followed it).”
***
“I can’t go back to yesterday because I was a different person then.”
8 comments

  1. I’ve wondered before if I would like these stories. I’m like you in that I really disliked the Disney cartoon version of Alice — so much so that I didn’t bother to watch the last 20 minutes until almost a decade after I first saw it!

    Maybe I’ll get around to reading this at some point. 🙂

  2. I have never read the book but have watched the Disney and Burton films. The books never intrested me and the films are …. just different. Really wonder what went through his head to write the story.

    1. Was he high? Doing opium or something? That’s why I’ve gotta research this dude and find out what was going on in his tricked out mind. He wrote the Jabberwocky too – That is one weird poem.

Leave a Reply

