Happy Valentine’s Day! Part 4: Most Romantic Poets*

Pablo Neruda is my first choice. Be still my heart. His words will untie you. His gift of words will work magic and leave you wanting more and more of his words.

Neruda you had me at hello.

…but this, in which there is no I or you,
so intimate that your hand upon my chest is my hand,
so intimate that when I fall asleep it is your eyes that close.

Love Sonnet XVII

I crave your mouth, your voice, your hair.
Silent and starving, I prowl through the streets.
Bread does not nourish me, dawn disrupts me, all day
I hunt for the liquid measure of your steps.

I hunger for your sleek laugh,
your hands the color of a savage harvest,
hunger for the pale stones of your fingernails,
I want to eat your skin like a whole almond.

Love Sonnet XI

And then there is John Keats. Beautiful words and a tragic story. His poems will never grow old. He will make you feel the depths of ecstasy and tragedy.

” Love is my religion – I could die for that – I could die for you”

*This list is completely subjective and is based completely upon my whims at the time of writing this blog.

2 comments

  1. I have read a few of Pablo Neruda works but obviously not enough. WOW! I shall check him out….literally….at the library…hahaha

Leave a Reply

