Letting God ink you

“God rewrote the text of my life when I opened the book of my heart to his eyes.”

2 Samuel 22:25 (The Message)

I’m at a loss of what to write this week.

I’ve hit a block of lazy and fear.

I thought I could proceed without those, but they are nipping at my heels.

Lazy and fear. Ugh. Different day, same story.

I’ve got one post to write – word by word – today.

Do you have a seasons in your life? Or maybe a general theme for your life?

Yep, me too.

Here are a couple of examples from the last year or so years:

  • Don’t give up.
  • Try.
  • Enjoy.

Currently, I’m in a season of discipline. Blah.

I could be in this season of discipline for a looooooong time.

I also have a theme that is of story. I am obsessed with story. And story-related objects.

Books.

Books fill my house. Just ask my roomie FNB.

Books migrate around the house – in and out of rooms, in and out of boxes.

I talk about fictional characters as if they are real.

I am still mad at Amy for burning Jo’s manuscript. Jo may have forgiven Amy, I have not. Why did Laurie marry Amy, for pete’s sake?!

Of Mice and Men lay on the floor next to a door where I threw it once finishing the book. I was so angry at the cruelty and beauty of it. The book lay there for almost three weeks.

I reread Markus Zusak‘s I Am The Messenger regularly. I love the ordinary becoming extraordinary.

My favorite character of all-time has no name The Gargoyle by Andrew Davidson. It is a story of redemption built of intricate layers and circles.

I am dragging myself across the finish line with the Harry Potter series. I do not like it when stories come to an end.

Sorry for the book tangent.

I love story. In all shapes and forms.

Even when it comes in the form of a season or chapter titled “Discipline”. I will persevere and be changed. My self will have the indelible marks of growth.

I came across this scripture:

“God rewrote the text of my life when I opened the book of my heart to his eyes.”

2 Samuel 22:25 (The Message)

Good grief.

How can you not live a better story with the ultimate Creator and ultimate Author writing and editing it?

You open the book and let God ink you.

Dang.

Be open.

Be vulnerable.

You will not be disappointed with the story He writes.

7 comments

  1. Great post even when you had nothing to write. Press on!

    By the way, I am still furious at Amy for burning Jo’s manuscript. Just the mere mention of her name makes my blood boil. 😉 And, I still think Jo and Laurie would have been a perfect couple. Stupid Amy. But you know what? It is a story that sticks with you. Good stories always have conflict and this one had plenty. Had it all ended happily ever after (according to my terms), I might not even remember the story. I read Little Women for the first time when I was about 11 years old. I’ve never forgotten turning those pages in anticipation, hardly being able to stand to find out what happened next. I’ve read it several times and have loved every minute of it. Great stories are worth rereading and retelling. They can inspire us and give us hope. Just look at the Bible – one great story after another. God’s story told through the lives of His people.

  2. Beautiful scripture. I’m going to have to remember that one.

    And Amy! Oh how I hate thee Amy! My sister kept trying to convince me otherwise, but in my mind Amy got away with everything that should have been Jo’s. As much as I loved, identified with, and wanted to be Jo — that’s how much I dislike Amy. (Can you tell I’m still not over it?)

    1. That scripture really got to me too! I’m going to have to memorize and stick it to my heart with a post-it note.

      I’m still not over it either. Stupid Amy!

  3. Keeks, I think you touched a nerve! Hee Hee. Way to stir the pot! Point well made. I love the thought of God as writer and editor. Wish He would edit my thoughts before I put them out there a little more often! 😉

    1. Right?! I keep calling Amy stupid to everyone on here – I am a pot stirrer! I learned it from my friends… LOL!

      I love the thought of God as a writer and editor too! It’s powerful!

      I wish he could put a mute button on me to keep my mouth shut!

Leave a Reply

