Fast and the Furious

Have you ever done a fast? A fast of any kind? There is the juice fast, no-food-only-water fast, Daniel fast (fruit and veggies only), fasting from a habit, etc, fasting during a meal and using that time in communion with God.

So how do you choose?

I have no idea.

For myself,  I thought I would try the Daniel fast. 1) Opportunity to focus and clarify. 2) Spend some time with God purposefully 3) How hard could this be? Seriously fruits and veggies – I’ve got this.

Oh how the mighty have fallen.

Here is a peek into my first 12 hours on the Daniel fast:

7:30 a.m.  Alarm rings

7:31-8:46 a.m. 4 more alarms ring and I finally get out of bed

8:47 a.m. Head to kitchen, open up refrigerator – pull out bacon, eggs, and stuff for waffles.

8:50 a.m. Realize I’m on Day 1 of Daniel fast

8:52 a.m. Prepare to make myself an Isagenix shake

8:53 a.m. Realize Isagenix shake is not a fruit nor a vegetable

8:53-8:55 a.m. Tears and motivational speech

8:56 a.m. Eat a banana

9:00 a.m. Sit down at desk for prayer and devotional time

9:04 a.m. Get distracted

10:05 a.m. Really want to complain about my suffering. I don’t exactly know how this qualifies as suffering, but I am suffering! Oh wait, this fast is suppose to be a holy moment. This fast isn’t suppose to be about me – it’s about God and His Glory.

10:06 a.m. Write in journal: Dear Diary, I feel really sucky because I keep focusing on myself instead of God. I am the lowest of the low. And I really want a bacon cheeseburger.

11:00 a.m. Eat a banana

Noon  Watch television

4:00 p.m.  Turn off television (God, maybe I should’ve chosen a TV fast instead of a Daniel fast, huh? But no tv. Dang. I just don’t think I could sacrifice like that.)

4:15 p.m. Eat banana

4:20 p.m. Head to grocery store to pick up another bunch or two of bananas. Can man live on banana alone?

5:20 p.m. Eat avocado and tomatoes. Dang. This is the life. I could live on avocado and tomatoes. Yum. Yum.

5:45 p.m. Panic sets in. What have I got myself into? This is day 1. I can’t do this for 7 days. Why would anyway give up meat and dairy and junk food? This is insanity. I have officially lost my mind. Oh right. Once again, this isn’t about me. Dear God, thank you for this amazing opportunity to fast and focus on you. But God, this is really hard. If I adhere to this Daniel fast, isn’t that like being legalistic? I don’t want to be one those legalistic people. Blah. I so don’t want to be like the Sanhedrin – those players were self-righteous fools. So it’s okay if I eat an almond or fifty and maybe some peanut butter (for protein, right?) Hey God, what big plans do you have for us? I bet it’s some amazing adventure that ends with a steak dinner.

6:14 p.m. I love fasting. This is the best idea. Ever.

6:16 p.m. I could fast forever.

6:20 p.m. Oh dear Jesus, what was I thinking??? Let’s renegotiate. How about a 1 day fast and then maybe next week I’ll do another day fast.

6:21 p.m. Tears (I hate bananas.)

6:45 p.m. Eat banana.

7:30 p.m. Go to bed. Not thinking about myself is exhausting.

 

11 comments

  1. You are hilarious! I can totally envision it…but I see it in black and white with some fun music playing…just like watching a picture show (before the talkies). I hope it gets easier. I wouldn’t know b/c I have NEVER done a real fast. close as I have been is giving up stuff for Lent. Do you remember that episode of Designing Women where they go on a 24 hour fast for world hunger?? 😉

    1. I love this! And yes I actually have been thinking about that episode of Designing Women! Remember when Julia and MaryJo have those big buckets of ice cream???

      1. Y’all are cracking me up! I totally remember that DW episode. I love that show!
        I’ve never done a real fast either.

  2. I remember fasting back when I worked at PCUMC. You were about 3. We had Bible Study every Monday evening at the Jacksons. I ate Sunday evening, Mon. drank coffee and 1 large diet coke slush at 3:00. You always had a drink too. Even then they were 1/2 price. Did not eat again till Tues. morning. Being gone for the evening kept me from eating or snacking. Anyway I did come closer to God and yes I got down to a size 14, I think. I always had a diet coke slush every afternoon at 3:00 then ate a regular meal the rest of the week. When I worked on the
    school bus, my driver and I decided to fast at something for Lent. She chose to fast chocolate, her weakness and I chose to fast butter or margarine. We were both successful and I think
    I lost some weight. She didn’t need to lose any. 🙂 Mom better know as cc

  3. This is great–I laughed all throughout, having been there myself! In the times I have fasted, what comes to mind is how I pacify my every craving way too easily, and how my body rebels when I don’t. Makes it rough! In fasting I’m also totally mindful of my every-hour need for God to sustain me in all ways, in all things. Happy Daniel Fast-ing! Be blessed as you lay down your comforts to identify with Him in His ultimate sacrifice!

Leave a Reply

