“I thought God was doing a new thing”

I thought God was doing a new thing
But I went and tried to dig up the old me

I like the new me
Infinitely more

That old me though was a second skin
Comfortable

Deceptive
I enjoyed my old ways

New me, well, new me
Is a whole different ball game

More compassionate
unable to be unaware

It is exhausting to care so much
For someone
Other than me

God is doing a new thing
He is

However
I’ve got one foot in the grave
Trying to hoist up my dead body
Trying to breathe life into the mouth of something better left
In the ground


18 “Forget the former things;
do not dwell on the past.
19 See, I am doing a new thing!
Now it springs up; do you not perceive it?
I am making a way in the wilderness
and streams in the wasteland.

Isaiah 43:18-19 (NIV)

2 comments

  1. Wow!! Love your poetry!

    “See the former things have taken place, and new things I declare; before they spring into being I announce them to you.” Isaiah 42:9

Leave a Reply

