Weigh less, write more

Today, I want to share two of my goals.

The end of 2011 is a couple months away, but in order to remain focused I have set some hard, but achievable goals.

If people can’t see what God is doing, they stumble all over themselves; But when they attend to what he reveals, they are most blessed.

Proverbs 29:18 (The Message)

I need the challenge, it helps me stay resolved and keeps me out of trouble.

1) Physical Life: Since September 2010, I have lost 60 pounds. 60! Never in my life have I succeeded like this regarding weight loss. For a couple months, I have simply maintained, but I am now ready to move forward.

I’ve settled into my job, I have a semi-regular routine for exercise, I am more aware of my triggers.

I’m ready to go for 40 more!

I will check in and use this blog for accountability on Thursdays. Good or bad. I will be honest and share my week’s update.

2) Work Life: Since around 2007, I’ve had a character who came to me and is dying to have his story written. I’ve written bits and pieces. I’ve halfheartedly tried.

My goal is to sit my butt in a chair and finish his story in a really shitty first draft. I’ve got a novel in me and I’ve got to bring it forth.

No more excuses, I’m either a writer or I’m not. And last time I checked, I wasn’t going to let Resistance stop me. And I’ve got the complete series of I Love Lucy riding on this – so I better get this down on paper.

So 40 pounds and 85,000 words. Weigh less and write more. In 103 days.

I attended the Quitter Conference with a guy named Nolan. I actually didn’t meet Nolan or his family, but I’ve been following his blog. He has inspired me with this idea. He is also working on  weight loss and completing his book by year’s end. Thanks Nolan for inspiration and courage to put this out here!

And you – any goals you’d like to share? I’d love to know.

How refreshing to end this year in relentless pursuit of your dreams, of achieving goals!

Let’s do what it takes. Let’s encourage one another. Let’s hustle.

9 comments

  1. I’ll be honest – the idea of really trying to lose weight scares me. It scares me because I’ve half-tried so many times that I don’t want to give it my all and fail at that too.

    So weigh less and write more — both things I need to do. If I can get through the rest of the year without breaking stride on my blogs, that’ll be a huge accomplishment for me. But I feel almost as though it’s one or the other; I either have time to exercise, or I have time to write. But I guess that’s the fear talking.

    So more power to you Keeks! And if I can get my but in gear to come alongside you, I will absolutely be there!

  2. I completely understand! It is so discouraging to try and fail, try and fail – I’ve tried like 5 different diets and yo-yo’d all over the place.

    You are doing fantastic on your blogs! I actually just checked out you and your friends book review blog – very cool! I love that this is your goal and it is huge!

    I would love for you to join me on this journey. It’s overwhelming, but I’m tired of fearing failure yet not trying at all, y’know?

    So we’ll do this one day, one moment, one choice at a time be it writing more and/or weighing less.

    Thanks Alicia!

    1. Nolan! Thank you so much! I was so impressed with your determination and your ability to move forward right after the Quitter Conference! You have no idea how that inspired me! Weight loss is difficult and knowing you had put yourself out there made it much easier. Keep writing your story – I, too, look forward to reading yours!

Leave a Reply

