Vision: Living a better story by sharing yours!

I’ve got a pretty crazy vision. (Or rather I consider it “crazy”.)

I’m not sure how it’s going to work, but I know I need to write every day in order to keep practicing. Accountability comes in part from posting here each Wednesday.  I’m working on consistency and faithfulness.

In 2010, one day after being laid off from OPUBCO Communications. My best friend and I went went to Mardel and I purchased Donald Miller’s A Million Miles in a Thousand Years and Rob Bell’s Drops Like Stars. Both were on sale – it was icing on the cake!

These books became my guidebooks for my adventure in unemployment. Discovery of these books was a quintessential Oprah A-HA moment.

Drops Like Stars dealt with pain and creativity. Packing punches with short, clipped sentence structure and direct truth.

A Million Miles in a Thousand Years spoke to my soul – Could I live a better story? Was  I willing to make choices that moved the story along and were not the easiest choices? Reading Miller’s frank, brutal memoir unearthed for me my longing to do something EPIC in my own life, my own STORY.

I have read each of these books no less than three times.

The ingredients for my God-inspired vision:

1 part – Rob Bell

1 part – Donald Miller

2 parts – Jon Acuff blogs

1 part – Quitter Conference

1 part – LifeChurch

1 part – Chazown Experience

Mix all together with heaps of prayers and some intentional Bible reading.

What you get is my vision: “living a better story by sharing yours”.

That tagline attached to the header on this blog is no accident. It was intentional and a bit intimidating.

My vision is to share stories.

Stories that inspire, challenge, and open eyes.

But not just my own story. I want to reach deeper and further. I want to share the stories of others. I want to give an ear to those whose story has fallen on deaf ears. I want to give a voice to those whose are mute. I want to help others share their life.

I am not exactly sure on the how or why or when or who. Maybe I should have the details, but I don’t.

I keep having a conversation with God – about how I don’t know how to interview/about how I don’t know whose story I can share/and who will want their story shared even – but pretty much it’s all excuses, and self-doubt, and a lack of trusting Him.

Want to know something else?

There is this non-profit organization To Write Love On Her Arms – an incredible, powerful resource for those in crisis – depression, addiction, self-injury, suicide. Maybe one day I’ll share some of their stories.How cool would that be?!

You know what else?

I want to tell the story of those rescued and rehabilitated from the sex trafficking industry.

I want to look these people in their beautiful eyes and tell them I am listening. I want to tell them that I want to know them. I want to let them know their story matters.

For now, this blog is a living mechanism. Please be patient as I discover and this blog takes its shape.

***

Thank you for visiting and taking the time to read and even comment. I appreciate and am ever so grateful – more than you will ever comprehend. Thank you.

If you would like to talk and share your story – well let’s do just that.

Comment below or email me.

3 comments

    1. Thank you! I’m ready! It’s nice to branch out from myself and to think of others : )

      As always, thank you so much for reading and giving me encouragement!

Leave a Reply

