Quitter and me

At the end of July, I attended Jon Acuff’s Quitter Conference.  To say it was life changing is very well an understatement.

In a room, of nearly 200 people, I saw with my own eyes that there are people, like me, who have a dream and want to make their dreams a reality.

I am not alone.  That truth set me ablaze.  Since before I can remember, God has spoken that word over me: You are not alone.

On an ordinary Saturday God painted the picture of that truth with Quitter.

By the first break, we had been challenged to be our secret selves and so I tentatively introduced myself to Eric “Tiny E”, musician.

When he asked me what I do, I immediately responded with my current day job status.

Eric gently reminded me what was said moments ago from the stage.

“Oh yeah, I forgot, I’m uh uh I like to write.  I mean I am a writer.”

Cue birds releasing into the air and Prince singing “When Doves Cry”. Scene.

I owned up to who I am.  We at the conference confessed who we really knew we were – our secret selves.  We said it ALOUD.

Julia, sitting next to me at the conference, also, is a writer.  She has an amazing calming, inspiring presence.  A Godsend sitting right next to me when I had moments of wanting to wallflower myself.

Surrounded by fellow Quitters and fellow creators, I found comrades in arms.

Now when I feel low and Resistance tries to taunt me with lies that I am alone, I have a vision of that Saturday etched in my spirit.  Those Quitters gathered to actively recover their dreams and get on with the hustle of pursuing those dreams.

There are so many words and aspects of the Quitter Conference that I want to share and I will, but today I would like to introduce myself.

Hi, I’m Kristen, but my friends, they call me Keeks and I would love for you to do the same.  I. am. a. writer.

And you?  I would love to meet you too.

C’mon.  Share that secret self.  Don’t be afraid, you are not alone.

——–

For more information on Quitter and to get the first chapter free, visit

Quitter: Bridging the Gap Between Your Day Job and Dream Job

16 comments

  1. Thanks, Keeks! I. Am. A. Writer. Too.

    ….and my “Quitter, Unpacked” post is scheduled for next Monday (i thought a month was a good accountability point for myself) Sorry i was too much of a wallflower to have actually *met* you there, but am loving the encouragement from the twitter community after the fact…

    Keep up the great writing…………i’m reading you.

    1. Christine! Doesn’t it feel so freeing to say it aloud or typed aloud?! Looking forward to reading your post and getting to know you better. Thanks for reading and for the encouragement!

  2. Hi Keeks! I’m a writer, too. 🙂

    Thanks for posting this. I needed the reminder. I keep trying to swim on a tennis court and it’s not working. Your post is great encouragement for me to see the positive aspects of my day job and how they are grooming me to be a better writer.

    Sorry we didn’t get a change to meet at the conference. Maybe we can meet up at the next one. 🙂

    1. Nice to meet you, writer! I completely understand the swimming on a tennis courts – UGH!

      I am anxiously awaiting another Quitter Conference. Maybe we’ll meet then! Thank you for reading my blog! I plan on visiting yours very soon!

  3. Thanks for the shout-out, Keeks! I too was so grateful to have sat next to you at the conference. I couldn’t believe God had placed me next to someone so much like me. You are awesome and an amazing writer. I have a feeling that Quitter conference was just the beginning for you… 🙂

  4. I love this! Sometimes it takes someone giving us permission to say who we think we were created to be. Quitter Conf did that for so many of us. Freeing, isn’t it? Keep writing, Keeks. I’m reading!

  5. Hi Keeks! I’m so glad you did this post — I’m a major wallflower as well, and while I met a few people at the conference, it’s so exciting to find contact with so many more, especially other writers!
    I’m a writer too (that sounds so weird to say), with a couple of blogs and a new one in the pipeline as I figure out just what kind of writer I am. I am looking forward to keeping up with your Quitter journey!

    1. Yippee! A writer! Please let me know when you get your new blog up and running – would love to check it out!

      It’s very cool to be *meeting* each of you from the Quitter Conference. And I hope it grows into a support system for each of us!

  6. Yay! There’s my girl. So proud of you. You are a writer and I am reminded by your words that I am a painter. Oh to completely and forever curb these fears and wayward emotions! How encouraging you are every single day with your words to me and now all these millions of folks get the opportunity to dine on your superb wordage. How blessed we all are;)

Leave a Reply

